Developed by the Public Utility Research Center (PURC) at the University of Florida, in collaboration with the University of Toulouse, the Pontificia Universidad Catolica, the World Bank and a panel of international experts, the Body of Knowledge on Infrastructure Regulation (BoKIR) summarizes some of the best thinking on infrastructure policy. Funding for this project came from the Public-Private Infrastructure Advisory Facility (PPIAF).

This site provides links to more than 500 references, an extensive glossary and self-testing features to facilitate learning. The references include publications and decisions by regulatory agencies and other governmental bodies; policy advisories by think tanks, consultants, donor agencies, and others; and research by academics, consultants, and other experts.

The World Bank staff, academics, regulators, government officials and consultants who worked on the BoKIR hope that it provides a standard set of regulatory concepts and readings to which regulators throughout the world should be exposed, thus affording them opportunities for shared knowledge across countries and sectors, and for improved regulatory practices.

We thank the following people who served as advisors and facilitators during the development of this web site. These experts provided strategic direction, suggested references, edited text, and made numerous other recommendations. The authors are responsible for any errors and omissions.

PPIAF established a Governing Board, a Review Committee, and a Secretariat at PURC to manage the Body of Knowledge on Infrastructure Regulation web site.

Current Governing Board Members:

Former Governing Board Members:

  • Abou-Nehme, Bassem, Energy Finance Specialist, The World Bank
  • Gallo, Joshua, Infrastructure Specialist, The World Bank
  • Gassner, Katharina, Senior Economist, The World Bank

We also thank the following individuals for their hard work on the redesign and September 2012 launch of this web site:
Rossana Passaniti, Joey Spooner, Kt Stemper, Rayven Gentry, Chris Sposito and Jessica Jinah Song.